Home /
Giving / Celebration / Celebration 2014
page tools /
You have 1 PagePop. View

Celebration 2014


Mother McAuley Liberal Arts High School held its Celebration Gala on Saturday, February 8, 2014 at Beverly Country Club. The annual fundraiser celebrates individuals who exemplify the values of Catherine McAuley. All proceeds from the fundraiser support the new Sister Agatha O’Brien Memorial Scholarship Fund, which will be offered to students who score in the top five percent on the school’s entrance exam, starting with the incoming Class of 2018. 

This year, McAuley honored Sallie Wiechern King ’68 and her husband Ken with the Catherine McAuley Leadership Award. The couple truly epitomize the mission of McAuley through their compassionate and endless response to the
needs of the McAuley family and larger community. 
Sallie has been active on the Saint Xavier Academy/Mother McAuley High School Alumnae Board and has volunteered for more than 30 years alongside Ken.


The event also celebrated the induction of three distinguished members of the McAuley community as Life Trustees. Through their work, volunteer efforts and financial support, they have continuously shown their dedication to McAuley and its students.

Through the years, Francis Houlihan has volunteered, participated on committees and served on the Board of Trustees.  In 1993, the school opened a new gymnasium and music facility, the result of a capital campaign he chaired. In recognition of his efforts, Fran was awarded the Catherine McAuley Leadership Award at Celebration 2001.


Robert Kuenster has owned and operated Thompson and Kuenster Funeral Home for the past 30 years.  He places great value on the importance of service to the Church and community, as evident through his past and present involvement with numerous organizations, including the McAuley Board of Trustees.


Sister Betty Smith, RSM arrived at McAuley in 1966 as a Social Studies teacher, moving to Department Chair, Senior Dean and Director of Curriculum. Today, Sister Betty remains an avid supporter of McAuley’s fundraising efforts, and also volunteers.


Become a 2017 Celebration Sponsor!

click here



Past Celebration Honorees

Catherine McAuley Leadership Award

Sr. Brian Costello, RSM
Sr. Colette Jolie, RSM
Martin Ozinga
Joseph Cardinal Bernardin
Rose and Matt Lamb
Sr. Catherine Gallager, RSM
Richard and Dorothy Prendergast
Mrs. Jo McGrath Kean
Sr. Rosemary Connelly, RSM
Michael and George Lombard
Sr. Corinne Raven, RSM
Sr. Catherine Mary Norris, DC ‘65
Bishop Raymond E. Goedert, DD
Richard and Christine Guzior
Colleen Lamb Ferrara ‘77
Francis Houlihan
Alderman Ginger Rugai, 19th Ward, Chicago
Raymond and Mary Ellen Schwaller
Joan P. Claussen
Francis Gallagher
Ave Hayes Green
William and Helen Brett
George and Virginia Eck
Honorable Gloria Grace Coco ‘68
Sr. Rose Wiorek, RSM
Stephen and Winifred Gardner Ligda ‘59
Napleton Family
Bishop Gustavo Garcia-Siller, M.Sp.S.
The Bigane Family
Mary Kean Coffey ‘63
Fran Robinson '74
Sallie Wiechern King '68 and Ken King
Father Jack Wall
Kelly O'Connor Heneghan '95

Distinguished Alumnae Award

Sheila Butler King '64
Sister Honora McNicholas, RSM '50
Mary Carey '63
Mary Kay Barron '82
Sister Sue Sanders, RSM '69
Mary Anne Hennessy Capron '75
Sister Jean McGrath, CSJ '62
Margaret O'Connell Nykaza '72
Anne Edwards Cotter '73
Alex Meneses Simpson '83
Barbara Moore Pasquinelli '57
Laura Shallow '75
Marion McFarland '55
Boyle Family 
Jennifer Costello Fortner '94

Agatha O'Brien Catholic Service Award

Father Marty O'Donovan
Sister Sheila Lyne, RSM

Life Trustees

Francis Houlihan
Robert Kuenster
Sister Teresa Maltby, RSM, D.Mn.
Sister Betty Smith, RSM
Carol Groesbeck Sullivan '68 
Sister Susan Sanders '69 RSM, PhD
Carole Intrieri Wilson '68

  • © Mother McAuley Liberal Arts H.S.
  • 3737 W. 99th Street
  • Chicago, IL 60655
  • Phone 773.881.6500
email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite